The fourth consecutive undergraduate research symposium of the faculty will be held this year under the auspices of Senior Professor Lasantha Manawadu, Dean, Faculty of Arts. The symposium is scheduled to be held during October-November 2022. This annual symposium gives undergraduates in the final year of the Honours and Study Stream Degree Programmes a space to present their research and publish it in the symposium proceedings. The key objective of the undergraduate symposium is to enable undergraduates to perform in the research audience by appropriately learning research techniques, engaging in the conference presentation, and discussing the research findings. The faculty undergraduate research symposium encourages the research culture among undergraduates and gives them a scholarly platform for research performance.

Final-year undergraduates are encouraged to submit their abstracts written in English, Sinhala, or Tamil languages.


Calling for Expression of Interest (EOI)

Sinhala Medium Link for EOI


Tamil Medium Link for EOI


English Medium Link for EOI




Symposium Proceedings

Notice: Will be uploaded at the symposium Day


Symposium Committees:


Symposium Chair

Dr. Menik Wakkumbura





Symposium Secretary

Mr. Migara Karunarathne





Symposium Treasurer

Ms. Nadeesha Jayathunge




Abstract Review Committee Chairs

Prof. Sunethra Perera (Co-Chair) – Sinhala Medium

Prof. Chandana Aluthge (Co-Chair) – Sinhala Medium

Dr. Kaushalya Perera (Co-Chair) – English Medium

Dr. Fareena Ruzaik (Co-Chair) – Tamil Medium


Abstract Review Committee Assistants

Mr. K. K. G. Randula

Ms. Wathsala Anuradhi


Editorial Committee

Dr. Latha Gurusinghe

Dr. Dinithi Karunanayaka

Dr. Shamini Chandran

Dr. W.A.D. Abeysinghe

Ms. Shivanee Ilangakoon

Mr. Saman Wanasinghe

Ms. Kalyani Wijesundara

Mr. P. Krishanthan

Mr.  J. N. B.  Ekanayake

Ms. Narmada Withanage


Organizing Committee(s)


Publication Committee

Dr. Janaki Jayawardhana – Chair

Ms. Nipuni Kaushalya

Ms. Harini Jayamaha


Scientific Sessions

Dr. Savithri Ranasinghe – Chair

Ms. V.P.N. Senadhi


Food and Beverages

Ms. K. Rewathy – Coordinator


Event Management

Ms. Chalika Thangaraja – Coordinator

Ms. Ashani Fernando


Secretarial/Technical and Support Staff

Ms. Nimalika Herath

Mr. Mahesh Rajarathne

Mr. Dakshina Dissanayake

Mr. Asithanjana Batuwanthudawa

Mr. G.M.W.C. Gamlath

Mr. Dew Shakthi

Mr. Lasitha Samantha


Special Support

Mr. P. M.S. Bandara (Deputy Register, Faculty of Arts)