The Faculty of Arts currently has two different types of Master’s programs:
  • Taught Master’s programs: typically of a one year duration, consists of coursework only or with a guided independent study (level 9 of the SLQF)
  • Master’s with coursework and thesis: typically of a two-year duration (level 10 of the SLQF).
The Faculty of Arts has a number of Master’s programs as listed below:


DepartmentMasters Degree
*Department of Buddhist StudiesMaster of Arts in Buddhist Studies
Masters in Arts in Buddhist Studies
*Department of DemographyMaster of Arts in Demography
*Department of EconomicsMasters in Economics
Masters of Financial Economics
Master of Tourism Economics and Hotel Management
*Department of EnglishMaster of Arts in English Studies
*Department of HistoryMA In Historical Studies
MA In History (Research)
*Department of International RelationsMaster of Arts in International Relations
*Department of SinhalaMaster of Arts in Sinhala
*Department of SociologyMaster of Arts in Sociology
Masters in Sociology